Galapagos Islands

Galapagos Islands

The Galapagos Islands are UNESCO World Heritage Site and an beautiful archipelago of volcanic islands distributed around the equator, 965 kilometres (about 600 miles) west of continental Ecuador in the Pacific Ocean.

The group consists of 13 main islands, 6 smaller islands, and 107 rocks and islets. The islands are located at a geological hot spot, a place where the Earth's crust is being melted from below by a mantle plume, creating volcanos. Volcanic craters are on almost every island. The Earth's most evident renewal process is evident on the eastern coast of James Island at Sulivan Bay. The oldest island is thought to have formed between 5 and 10 million years ago. The youngest islands, Isabela and Fernandina, are still being formed, with the most recent volcanic eruption in 2005. 

Santa Cruz is the most developed island of the archipelago, thus offering many interesting activities (cruising, kayaking, snorkelling, trekking, camping and even horseback riding is available) and all the usefull facilities of a small sea community.

The Galapagos National Park and the Charles Darwin Research Center are headquartered on the island of Santa Cruz. These two institutions help maintain the Galapagos as the outstanding islands they are today. They are devoted to the conservation of protected areas.You will have opportunity to observe giant tortoises at the Darwin Research Center on Santa Cruz Island and view their manmade natural looking environment.

Lava has left lasting impression on Canta Cruz Island, where lava tunels turn and dip underground in total darkness. Lava tunnels are actualy long lava caves formed when molted lava on the outside is exposed to cool air, and the internal lava continues to flow.

More About Galapagos
Galapagos Giant Tortoise
Watch Galapagos Lizards Video
Galapagos Underwater Video
Buy Galapagos DVD
Galapagos Video Selection
Bestselling Galapagos Books

Info Pages | About Us | Privacy | Terms of Use | Site Map | Contact Us